Skip to main content
Hon. Samuel Chepkonga Sworn in as a Member of the Parliamentary Service Commission.

Hon. Samuel Chepkonga Sworn in as Member of the Parliamentary Service Commission.

Immediate former Ainabkoi MP Hon. Samuel Chepkonga, was this morning sworn in as a member of the Parliamentary Service Commission at a ceremony witnessed by Speaker of the National Assembly, who is also the PSC Chairman, Hon. Justin Muturi.

Hon. Chepkonga was picked after interviews conducted by the commission to fill a position that requires representation of a non- Member of Parliament as per the Constitution. He joins Dr. Lorna Mumelo who represents the other gender as a non Member of Parliament Commissioner, as well.

Parliament under Article 127 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 enjoys a rare privilege; that of being an appointing authority to a Commissioner of an independent commission, other than the President who enjoys such powers. Indeed Hon. Chepkonga was sworn in after his recruitment by the PSC, which was later approved by both the National Assembly and the Senate. He will serve for a term of 6 years.

Others present at the function were commissioners Hon Adan Keynan,George Khaniri, Beth Mugo and Clerk National Assembly Michael Sialai, and the Senior Deputy Clerk, Senate, Mr. Mohammed Ali.

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.