Skip to main content


The New Commissioners of the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) have today taken an oath of  office, to serve for a term of Five years. 


The new Members were sworn into office by Speaker of the National Assembly and Chairman of Commission, Rt. Hon. Sen. Moses Wetang’ula, EGH, MP, today, 10th November, 2022 in the presence of the Secretary to the Commission, Mr. J.M. Nyegenye, the leadership and some Members of the two Houses, and other parliamentary staffers.


The new commissioners are: 


1. Hon Patrick Makau Kingola, MP, Mavoko Constituency 

2. Hon. Mishi Juma Khamisi Mboko, MP, Likoni Constituency 

3. Hon. Faith Wairimu Gitau, MP, Nyandarua County

4. Hon Senator Joyce Korir

5. Hon Senator Eric Okong’o Omogeni, SC,MP, Nyamira County 

6. Hon. Mohamed Ali, MP, Nyali Constituency 

7. Hon Sen. John Kinyua Nderitu , Laikipia County 


In his remarks as the Chair of the Commission, the Hon Speaker Promised to facilitate the commissioners to ensure that they carry out their duties smoothly, emphasizing the need for them to remain true to the oath that they have taken in ensuring that they deliver as per the expectations of the people whose welfare they are charged with. 


“We have come to an end of a mildly protracted process of getting the commission in place and now it’s time to get down to work. First your main duty is to your constituents that sent you to parliament, then the Members of Parliament and the Parliamentary members of staff whose interests are now your responsibility.” Said Speaker Wetang’ula. 


He challenged the new commissioners to take up their duties with utmost seriousness, and address the current issues of concern to Members of Parliament, and urged them to discharge their duties without any bias regardless of their political party affiliations. 


Article 127 of the Constitution of Kenya provides for the establishment of a Parliamentary Service Commission that consists of: 

(a) the Speaker of the National Assembly, as chairperson;

(b) a vice-chairperson elected by the Commission from the members appointed

(c) seven members appointed by Parliament from among its members of whom-

(i) four shall be nominated equally from both Houses by the party or coalition of parties forming the national government, of whom at least two shall be women; and

(ii) three shall be nominated by the parties not forming the national government, at least one of whom shall be nominated from each House and at least one of whom shall be a woman; and

(d) one man and one woman appointed by Parliament from among persons who are experienced in public affairs, but are not members of Parliament.


The above members of the Commission join Hon. Rachel Ameso, who is the female non-MP Commissioner of the PSC to constitute the 6th Parliamentary Commission.


The Commission is responsible for--

(a) providing services and facilities to ensure the efficient and effective functioning of Parliament;

(b) constituting offices in the parliamentary service, and appointing and supervising office holders;

(c) preparing annual estimates of expenditure of the parliamentary service and submitting them to the National Assembly for approval, and exercising budgetary control over the service;

(d) undertaking, singly or jointly with other relevant organisations, programmes to promote the ideals of parliamentary democracy; and

(e) performing other functions--

(i) necessary for the well-being of the members and staff of Parliament; or

(ii) prescribed by national legislation.


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.