Skip to main content

About the Senate

Historical perspective

Prior to the commencement of Legislation by Parliament in Kenya, legislation had wholly been done in the United Kingdom (UK) and conveyed in form of royal instructions commonly termed Orders-in-Council

Role of the Senate.

  1. The Senate represents the counties, and serves to protect the interests of the counties and their governments.
  2. The Senate participates in the law-making function of Parliament by considering, debating and approving Bills concerning counties, as provided in Articles 109 to 113.
  3. The Senate determines the allocation of national revenue among counties, as provided in Article 217, and exercises oversight over national revenue allocated to the county governments.
  4. The Senate participates in the oversight of State officers by considering and determining any resolution to remove the President or Deputy President from office in accordance with Article 145.

Membership of the Senate.

  1. The Senate consists of—
    1. forty-seven members each elected by the registered voters of the counties, each county constituting a single member constituency;
    2. sixteen women members who shall be nominated by political parties according to their proportion of members of the Senate elected under clause (a) in accordance with Article 90;
    3. two members, being one man and one woman, representing the youth;
    4. two members, being one man and one woman, representing persons with disabilities; and
    5. the Speaker, who shall be an ex officio member.
  2. The members referred to in clause (1) (c) and (d) shall be elected in accordance with Article 90.
  3. Nothing in this Article shall be construed as excluding any person from contesting an election under clause (1) (a).