Skip to main content


Devolution Committee chaired by Homabay  Senator Hon. Moses Kajwang  is investigating alleged illegal evictions of residents from Nairobi City County staff housing units in Pumwani and Eastleigh estates.

The committee conducted a site visit to Pumwani Maternity staff headquarters and Nairobi City Water and Sewerage staff quarters at Eastleigh section 3 where the alleged evictions occured.
The Committee seized of the matter following a statement  by Nominated Senator Hon. Millicent Omanga who asked the committee members to establish the circumstances surrounding the evictions, subdivision and allocation of the parcels of land belonging  to the Nairobi City County Government by private developers.

The committee is also tasked to find out if the Nairobi City County government and the Nairobi Metropolitan Services(NMS)have put in place adequate measures to ensure protection of County institutions and properties from illegal acquisition.
“As the Senate we shall investigate circumstances under which land that belonged to Pumwani maternity that was housing doctors and nurses was transferred to private developers.

We have just seen that land that used to be a police station is now a petrol station and land that was used to house doctors is now parking space where private individuals are collecting rent,”stated Kajwang

The Committee also expressed disappointment over the failure of NMS  boss Major General Mohammed Badi and Chief officer ,Lands to appear before them to shed light on the matter.
The committee further summoned the two and directed them to furnish the committee with current survey plans, deed plans and title deeds of the said parcels of land.
In Eastleigh, the committee established that Nairobi City Water and Sewage  staff were allegedly evicted from their homes last year to pave way for a private developer.
The committee promised to investigate the matter diligently to ensure fairness to the affected residents.

Members of the committee present during the visit include Senators Hon. Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Hon. Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) , Hon Agnes Muthama (Machakos),Hon.Millicent Omanga and Hon.Ngugi Isaac (Nominated). 

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.