Skip to main content

The Office of the Deputy Speaker

The office of the Deputy Speaker is established in Article 106 of the Constitution and provided for in the Standing Orders. The Deputy Speaker is elected by Members from amongst themselves and performs the duties of the Deputy Speaker. The Deputy Speaker is the Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole House and also chairs the Liaison Committee. He or she is the Chairperson of the Members of the Chairperson’s Panel, which comprises four members who assist the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker in presiding in the plenary.

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.