Skip to main content
Speakers of Parliament Attend Swearing in of Justice Ouko as Appellate Court President

Speakers of Parliament Attend Swearing in of Justice Ouko as Appellate Court President

NAIROBI, 26th June, 2018 – The Speaker of the Senate, Rt Hon Kenneth Lusaka and his counterpart in the National Assembly, Hon Justin Muturi, today attended the Swearing in and Assumption of Office of Hon Justice William Ouko, as President of the Court of Appeal.

While congratulating Hon Ouko on his election and assumption of office, Speaker Lusaka noted that Kenyans took a decisive step – close to ten years ago – when they overwhelmingly voted for the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 which bequeathed the Judiciary much needed independence.

“I can confidently emphasize that we have never had a truly independent Judiciary as we have witnessed in the last few years,” said the Senate Speaker.

“Prior to this, Presidents, governments and parliaments changed, jurisdictions were created, instances were added, but the judicial system was not truly independent and therefore did not meet the needs of society.”

On his part, Speaker Muturi acknowledged that the relationship between Parliament and the Judiciary was a bit acrimonious after the enactment of the new Constitution but has improved.

Our presence here is a clear illustration of the willingness of the two arms of Government to work together for the good of our people,” said the Speaker of the National Assembly.

Chief Justice Hon David Maraga noted that the new President “is assuming office at a time of both great promise and significant challenges, major among them being the ever growing case backlog.”

In his inaugural address, the President of the Court of Appeal Hon Ouko appreciated the presence of the Speaker Lusaka and Muturi at his swearing in.

“To the Hon. Speakers of Parliament, thank you for ensuring that at least, on this one, we are together, united as one and I believe that this is the beginning of a new dawn in our relationship and an end to unhelpful, endless squabbles and differences among the three branches of Government going forward.”