(No.4)

First Session Morning Sitting (21)



THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - FIRST SESSION

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 17, 2013

1. The House assembled at Nine O'clock.

2. **ADMINISTRATION OF OATH**

The Speaker administered the Oath of Allegiance to the following Member -

KIPTUI Grace Jemutai

3. **PAPER LAID**

The following Paper was laid on the Table of the House -

The Presidential Address to the Joint Sitting of the Houses of Parliament

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

4. **NOTICE OF MOTION** – (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, the thanks of this House be recorded for the exposition of public policy contained in the address of the President delivered on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

5. PROCEDURAL MOTION – EXEMPTION OF BUSINESS FROM THE ORDER PAPER

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, the business appearing in today's Order Paper be exempted from the provisions of Standing Order 40(3) being a Wednesday Morning, a day allocated for Business not sponsored by the Majority or Minority Party or a Member belonging to the Majority or Minority Party or Business sponsored by a Committee

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Question put and agreed to

6. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE HOUSE BUSINESS COMMITTEE

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 171, this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the House Business Committee -

- 1. Hon. Justin Muturi, M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly, Chairperson
- 2. Hon. Aden Duale, M.P. Leader of the Majority Party
- 3. Hon. Francis Nyenze, M.P Leader of the Minority Party
- 4. Hon. Jamleck Kamau, M.P.
- 5. Hon. William Cheptumo, M.P.
- 6. Hon. Katoo ole Metito, M.P.
- 7. Hon. Eng. M. M. Maalim, M.P.
- 8. Hon. Naomi Shaaban, M.P.
- 9. Hon. Cecilia Ngetich, M.P.
- 10. Hon. Priscilla Nyokabi, M.P.
- 11. Hon. John Serut, M.P.
- 12. Hon. Rachael Shebesh, M.P.
- 13. Hon. Dr. Victor Munyaka, M.P.
- 14. Hon. Dr. Rachael Nyamai, M.P.
- 15. Hon. Peter Shehe, M.P.
- 16. Hon. David Were, M.P.
- 17. Hon. Zebedeo Opore, M.P.
- 18. Hon. Z. K. Cheruiyot, M.P.
- 19. Hon. Joyce Emanikor Akai, M.P.
- 20. Hon. Mithika Linturi, M.P.
- 21. Hon. Johnson Sakaja, M.P.
- 22. Hon. Gideon Mung'aro, MP.
- 23. Hon. Jakoyo Midiwo, M.P.
- 24. Hon. Aden Keynan, M.P.
- 25. Hon. Thomas Mwadeghu, M.P.
- 26. Hon. Wafula Wamunyinyi, M.P.
- 27. Hon. Paul Otuoma, M.P.
- 28. Hon. Makali Mulu, M.P.
- 29. Hon. Mwashetani Khatib Abdalla, M.P.
- 30. Hon. Ghati Dennitah, M.P.
- 31. Hon. Jessica Mbalu, M.P.
- 32. Hon. Gladys Nyasuna, M.P.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Question put and agreed to

7. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE ON SELECTION

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 172, this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the Committee on Selection-

- 1. Hon. Aden Duale, M.P., Leader of the Majority Party, Chairperson
- 2. Hon. Francis Nyenze, M.P Leader of Minority Party
- 3. Hon. Benjamin Langat, M.P.
- 4. Hon. Mary Emase, M.P.
- 5. Hon. Maina Kamanda, M.P.
- 6. Hon. Alex Muiru, M.P.
- 7. Hon. Elias Barre Shill, M.P.
- 8. Hon. Robi Mathias, M.P.
- 9. Hon. Tiyah Galgalo, M.P.
- 10. Hon. Katoo ole Metito, M.P.
- 11. Hon. Alice Ng'ang'a, M.P.
- 12. Hon. Abdulrahman Dawood, M.P.
- 13. Hon. Benjamin Washiali, M.P.
- 14. Hon. Ken Obura, M.P.
- 15. Hon. Gideon Mung'aro, M.P.
- 16. Hon. Chris Wamalwa, M.P.
- 17. Hon. Rachael Ameso Amollo, M.P.
- 18. Hon. Joyce Wanjala Lay, M.P.
- 19. Hon. Mohamed Elmi, M.P.
- 20. Hon. Ghat Dennitah, M.P.
- 21. Hon. Alice Wahome, M.P.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Question put and agreed to.

And the time being thirty minutes past Ten O'clock, the Speaker interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House without Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

8. **HOUSE ROSE** - at thirty minutes past Ten O'clock.

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair today, Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 2.30 p.m.