(No. 143)



(1206)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT - (FOURTH SESSION)

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

SPECIAL SITTING

TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2017

- 1. The House assembled at thirty minutes past Two O'clock
- 2. The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- 3. Presiding the Speaker

4. <u>MOTION</u> - <u>APPROVAL OF A NOMINEE FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE</u> OFFICE OF CHAIRPERSON OF THE ETHICS AND ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION</u>

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, this House adopts the Report of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on the Vetting of nominee for appointment as Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, laid on the Table of the House on Tuesday, 17th January 2017, and pursuant to the provisions of section 10 (3) of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Act, 2011, and section 8 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, **approves** the appointment of **Archbishop (Rtd) Dr. Eliud Wabukala Wamukekhe** as Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission.

(Hon. Njoroge Baiya, Member, Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs)

Debate arising;

Mover replied;

Question put and <u>agreed to</u>.

5. MOTION - APPROVAL OF THE NOMINEES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE OFFICES OF CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS OF THE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION

(1207)

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, this House adopts the Report of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on the Vetting of nominees for appointment as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, laid on the Table of the House on Tuesday, 17th January 2017, and pursuant to the provisions of the First Schedule of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011 and section 8 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, **approves** the appointment of the following as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission:

(i)	Mr. Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati	-	Chairperson;
(ii)	Amb. Dr. Paul Kibiwott Kurgat, PhD	-	Member;
(iii)	Mr. Boya Molu	-	Member;
(iv)	Prof. Abdi Guliye	-	Member;
(v)	Dr. Roselyn Kwamboka Akombe	-	Member;
(vi)	Ms. Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya	-	Member; and
(vii)	Ms. Consolata Nkatha Bucha Maina	-	Member.

(Hon. Njoroge Baiya, Member, Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs)

Debate arising;

Rising in his place on a point of order under Standing Order 95, the Member for Tiaty (Hon. Asman Kamama) claimed to move "that the Mover be called upon to reply"

And the Speaker acceding to his claim;

Question put and <u>agreed to;</u>

Thereupon, Mover replied;

Question put and <u>agreed to</u>.

And the time being twenty minutes past Seven O'clock, the Speaker interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House <u>without</u> Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

6. HOUSE ROSE - at twenty minutes past Seven O'clock

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 2.30 p.m.