REPUBLIC OF KENYA



ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR (No. 036)

ON APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MEDIATION COMMITTEE TO CONSIDER THE COMMUNITY LAND BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 45 OF 2015) AND THE LAND LAWS (AMENDMENT) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 55 OF 2015)

Honourable Members, you may recall that on Tuesday, June 21, 2016, the Deputy Speaker conveyed to this House a Message from the Senate regarding its rejection of the Community Land Bill (National Assembly Bill No. 45 of 2015) and the Land Laws (Amendment) Bill (National Assembly Bill No. 55 of 2015) at Second Reading. The two Bills have since been referred to a Mediation Committee.

In this regard, and in consultation with the Leadership of the Majority and Minority Parties in the House, I have appointed the following Members to represent the National Assembly in the Mediation Committee formed to consider the two Bills:

- 1. The Hon. Alex Mwiru, MP;
- 2. The Hon. Moses Ole Sakuda, MP;
- 3. The Hon. Francis Nderitu, MP;
- 4. The Hon. Francis Chachu Ganya, MP; and
- 5. The Hon. Daniel Maanzo, MP.

Honourable Members, recalling that the said Bills had a Constitutional timeline of August 27, 2015, which was extended by one year with no option for a further extension as provided for in Article 261(3)(a) of the Constitution, the Mediation Committee is advised to expeditiously commence the process of attempting to develop agreed versions of the said Bills before August 27, 2016.

I thank you.

THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, EGH, MP SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Tuesday, June 28, 2016.