# **REPUBLIC OF KENYA**



#### **ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT**

### THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION) No. 057

# COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR ON

### APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MEDIATION COMMITTEE ON THE ASSISTED REPRODUCTIVE TECHNOLOGY BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 36 OF 2014)

**Hon. Members**, you may recall that yesterday, Wednesday, October 26, 2016, I conveyed a Message from the Senate regarding its decision on the Assisted Reproductive Technology Bill (National Assembly Bill No. 36 of 2014). In the Message, it is noted that the Bill was lost at Second Reading on October 19, 2016. The effect of this is that the Bill now stands committed to a Mediation Committee in accordance with the provisions of Article 112 of the Constitution. Indeed, the Senate has already nominated five (5) Senators to the aforesaid Mediation Committee.

**Hon. Members**, arising from the above and in consultation with the Leadership of the Majority and Minority Parties in the House, I have appointed the following Members to represent the National Assembly in the Mediation Committee:

- (1) The Hon. Millie Odhiambo-Mabona, MP;
- (2) The Hon. John Sakwa, MP;
- (3) The Hon. (DR.) James Nyikal, MP;
- (4) The Hon. Cecilia Ngetich MP; and
- (5) The Hon. Florence Kajuju, MP.

**Hon. Members**, the Mediation Committee is advised to expeditiously commence the process of developing an agreed version of the Bill in line with the provisions of Article 113 of the Constitution.

# I thank you.

## THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, EGH, MP SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY Thursday, October 27, 2016