# **REPUBLIC OF KENYA**



#### ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION) NO. 055

### COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR ON DISCHARGE OF MEMBERS FROM COMMITTEES PURSUANT TO STANDING ORDER 176

**Honourable Members,** I wish to notify the House that I am in receipt of correspondence from the Minority Party Whip, the Hon. Thomas L. Mwadeghu, MP in respect of the discharge of the following Members from Committees-

- (i) The Hon. (Eng.) James Gordon Kwanya Rege, MP to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Energy, Communication and Information and the Joint Committee on National Cohesion and Equal Opportunity;
- (ii) The Hon. Cyprian Kubai Iringo, MP to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Finance, Planning and Trade and the Committee on Regional Integration;
- (iii) **The Hon. Ababu Namwamba, MP** to be discharged from the Budget and Appropriations Committee, the Departmental Committee on Administration and National Security and the Constitutional Implementation Oversight Committee;
- (iv) The Hon. Isaac Mwaura, MP to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Environment and Natural Resources and Procedure and House Rules Committee;
- (v) The Hon. (Major Rtd) John K. Waluke, MP to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Administration and National Security and the Committee on Delegated Legislation;

- (vi) The Hon. Mpuru Aburi, MP to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Energy, Communication and Information and the Departmental Committee on Lands; and
- (vii) **The Hon. Steven Kariuki, MP** to be discharged from the Departmental Committee on Education, Research and Technology and the Constitutional Implementation Oversight Committee.

**Honourable Members**, the above discharges are pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 176 which provides that –

"(1) The parliamentary party that nominated a member to a select committee, may give notice, in writing, to the Speaker that the member is to be discharged from a select committee.
(2) The discharge of a member shall take effect upon receipt by the Speaker of a notice under paragraph (1)."

Pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 176, the discharges take effect immediately. The affected Members and Committee Chairs are accordingly advised. Further and arising from the above, the Coalition is advised to be cognizant of the provisions of Standing Order 173(3) which provides that, and I quote-

"(3) A vacancy occasioned by resignation or removal of a Member from a select committee shall be filled within fourteen days of the vacancy."

# I thank you.

# THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, EGH, MP <u>SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY</u> Tuesday, October 25, 2016