

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – FIFTH SESSION

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2017

- 1. The House assembled at thirty minutes past Two O'clock
- 2. The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- 3. **Presiding –** the Hon. Speaker

4. COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR

The Speaker conveyed the following Communication -

Election of members to the Fourth East African Legislative Assembly

Honourable Members,

This being my first Communication this year, I take the opportunity to welcome all of you back to the House for the Fifth and ultimately the final Session of the 11th Parliament. I do hope you have invigorated sufficiently to be able to consider and conclude the pending business for the remainder of the term.

Having said that, I now I wish to convey the following communication relating to election of Members to serve during the 4thterm of the East African Legislative Assembly.

Honourable Members, pursuant to the provisions of section 3 of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act 2011, I have received a notification from the Clerk of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) regarding the expiry of the term of the current 3rd East African Legislative Assembly which will come to an end on the 4th day of June 2017. The notification requests that the Parliament of Kenya causes the election of Members to represent the Country in the Assembly.

Honourable Members, The East African Legislative Assembly is established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community(EAC) as one of the key organs and institutions of the Community. Articles 50 and 51 of the EAC Treaty provides for Election of Members of the Assembly and the Tenure of Office of Elected Members respectively. Specifically, Article 51(1) provides that an elected member of the Assembly

shall hold office for five years and be eligible for re-election for a further term of five years. The current Assembly was elected in 2012.

Additionally, section 4(1) and (2) of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act, 2011 provides that the election of Members to the Assembly shall be conducted in accordance with the rules of procedure of the Legislatures of the Partner States. The Act also requires that the elections ought to be conducted within ninety (90) days before the expiry of the date of the outgoing Assembly. **The effective date in this case is March 04, 2017.**

Honourable Members, It is my view that the current Elections Rules which were adopted by the National Assembly in April 2012 and published in the Kenya *Gazette* through *Legal Notice* No. 31 of 11th May, 2012, require a review to conform to the bicameral nature of our Parliament. In this regard, a team of officers of the Houses of Parliament has been constituted to propose amendments of the existing Rules for election of Members of the Assembly, taking into account the bicameral nature of our Parliament and the relative political party majorities. The text of the proposed amendments will be submitted to the two Houses of Parliament for consideration, soonest. The Rules, once adopted by Parliament will thereafter inform the next course of action including the process of nomination of candidates and election procedure. In view of the foregoing, the Leadership of the Political Parties in the House are notified of the process and advised to await direction from the Houses on the rules to be applied upon adoption.

I thank you.

5. **PAPERS LAID**

The following Papers were laid on the Table -

- (i) The National Treasury Annual Public Debt Management Report for FY 2015/2016;
- (ii) The Office of the Auditor-General Special Audit on the University of Nairobi Financial, Procurement and Human Resources Management – January 2017;
- (iii) The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Third Quarterly Report covering July 01, 2016 to September 30, 2016;
- (iv) The National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board Report on Projects Approvals and Disbursements Status, December, 2016 including restrictions on Constituency accounts;
- (v) The Public Service Commission Evaluation Report on Public Service Compliance with the Values and Principles in Articles 10 and 232 of the Constitution for the year 2015/2016;
- (vi) The National Authority for the Campaign Against Alcohol and Drug Abuse (NACADAA) Seventh Bi-Annual Progress Report of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Control in Kenya, October 2015 - March 2016;

- (vii) The Annual Report and Financial Statements in respect of the following institutions for the year 2014/2015:-
 - (i) Laikipia University;
 - (ii) Kenya Ports Authority; and
 - (iii) University of Nairobi.
- (viii) The Annual Report and Financial Statements of Kenya Post Office Savings Bank for the year ended December 31, 2014.

(Majority Chief Whip)

6. MOTION - APPROVAL OF THE HOUSE BUSINESS COMMITTEE

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order No. 171(1)(d), this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the House Business Committee in addition to the Members specified under paragraph (a), (b) & (c): -

- 1. The Hon. Katoo Ole Metito, EGH, MGH, M.P.
- 2. The Hon. Jakoyo Midiwo, MGH, M.P.
- 3. The Hon. (Dr.) Naomi Shaban, EGH, M.P.
- 4. The Hon. Thomas Mwadeghu, CBS, M.P.
- 5. The Hon. JamleckKamau, EGH, M.P.
- 6. The Hon. William Cheptumo, M.P.
- 7. The Hon. Eng. M. M. Mahamud, CBS, M.P.
- 8. The Hon. David Were, M.P.
- 9. The Hon. Z. K. Cheruiyot, MGH, M.P.
- 10. The Hon. MithikaLinturi, M.P.
- 11. The Hon. Jessica Mbalu, M.P.
- 12. The Hon. (Dr.) Victor Munyaka, M.P.
- 13. The Hon. John Serut, M.P.
- 14. The Hon. WafulaWamunyinyi, M.P.
- 15. The Hon. Cecilia Ngetich, M.P.
- 16. The Hon. Priscilla Nyokabi, M.P.
- 17. The Hon. (Dr.) Rachael Nyamai, M.P.
- 18. The Hon. Peter Shehe, M.P.
- 19. The Hon. Joyce Emanikor Akai, M.P.
- 20. The Hon. Johnson Sakaja, M.P.
- 21. The Hon. (Dr.) MakaliMulu, M.P.
- 22. The Hon. DennitahGhati, M.P.
- 23. The Hon. Gladys Wanga, M.P.
- 24. The Hon. Florence Kajuju, M.P.
- 25. The Hon. (Dr). Susan Musyoka, M.P.
- 26. The Hon. KK Stephen KinyanjuiMburu, M.P.
- 27. The Hon. MishiJuma, M.P.
- 28. The Hon. Francis ChachuGanya, M.P.
- 29. The Hon. Chrisantus Wamalwa, M.P.

(Majority Chief Whip)

Debate arising;

Rising in his place on a Point of and Order, the Member for Luanda (Hon. Chris Omulele) claimed to move that "the Mover be now called upon to reply";

And the Speaker acceding to the claim;

Question put and agreed to.

Thereupon, the Mover replied;

Question put and <u>agreed to.</u>

And the time being thirty minutes past Three O'clock, the Speaker interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House <u>without</u> Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

7. **HOUSE ROSE** - at thirty minutes past ThreeO'clock

M E M O R A N D U M

The Speaker will take the Chair on Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 9.30 a.m.

--x--