Eleventh Parliament (No.002)



REPUBLIC OF KENYA

ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – (FOURTH SESSION)

THE SENATE

ORDER PAPER

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2016 AT 2.30 P.M

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion (As Listed in the Appendix)
- 7. Statements

8. **PROCEDURAL MOTION – LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON MOTIONS** (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order 100 (1), the Senate resolves that debate on a Motion not sponsored by the Majority or Minority Party or a Committee shall be limited in the following manner:-

A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty minutes for the Mover, twenty minutes for the Majority Party Official Responder, twenty minutes for the Minority Party Official Responder and fifteen minutes for each other Senator speaking and that fifteen minutes before the time expires, the Mover shall be called upon to reply.

9. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – <u>LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON</u> <u>ADJOURNMENT MOTION</u>

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 100 (4), the debate on any Motion for the adjournment of the Senate to a day other than the next normal sitting day in accordance with the calendar of the Senate shall be limited to a maximum of two hours with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking after which the Senate shall adjourn without question put;

Provided that when the period of recess proposed by any such Motion does not exceed nine calendar days, the debate shall be limited to a maximum of thirty (30) minutes, and shall be confined to the question of adjournment.

10. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – <u>LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON MOTION ON</u> <u>THE ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT</u>

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order 100 (1), the Senate resolves that the debate on the Motion on the Presidential Address shall be limited to a maximum of three sitting days with not more than fifteen minutes for each Senator speaking, excluding the Mover in moving and replying who shall be limited to thirty minutes in either case and that the Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Minority Leader shall be limited to thirty minutes each.

11. *<u>THE COUNTY GOVERNMENTS (AMENDMENT) BILL (SENATE BILL NO.</u> 21 OF 2015)

(Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo)

(First Reading)

12. THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA (AMENDMENT) BILL, (SENATE BILL NO. 16 OF 2015)

(Sen. Judith Sijeny)

(Second Reading)

13. *THE EMPLOYMENT (AMENDMENT) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 1 OF 2015)

(Sen. Martha Wangari)

(Second Reading)

14. **<u>THE CANCER PREVENTION AND CONTROL (AMENDMENT) BILL</u> (SENATE BILL NO. 3 OF 2015)

(Chairperson, Standing Committee on Health) (Second Reading)

...../Bill

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2016 (No.002)

(005)

15. *THE COUNTY LIBRARY SERVICES BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 6 OF 2015)

(Sen. Joy Gwendo)

(Second Reading)

16. *THE COUNTY OUTDOOR ADVERTISING CONTROL BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 11 OF 2015)

(Sen. Mutula Kilonzo Jr.)

(Second Reading)

17. *THE KENYA NATIONAL EXAMINATIONS COUNCIL (AMENDMENT) (NO.2) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 14 OF 2015)

(Sen. Christopher Obure)

(Second Reading)

18. *THE NATIONAL CEREALS AND PRODUCE BOARD (AMENDMENT) BILL (SENATE BILL NO. 15 OF 2015)

(Sen. (Dr.) Zipporah Kittony)

(Second Reading

-----XXXX------

KEY

- ******** Denotes a Majority /Minority Party Bill

******* Denotes a National Assembly Bill

****_** Denotes a Committee Bill

*****_ Denotes any other Bill

...../Appendix

(No.002)

APPENDIX

NOTICES OF MOTION

i) **Notice of Motion** - (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order Nos. 177(3) & 179(1), the Senate approves the nomination of Sen. Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen, by the Rules and Business Committee, to be a member of the Standing Committee on Energy to replace Sen. Charles Keter, former Senator for Kericho County.

ii) Notice of Motion- (The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order Nos. 177, 179 and 210, the Senate approves the following Senators nominated by the Rules and Business Committee to serve in the respective Sessional Committees as indicated below:-

A. COUNTY PUBLIC ACCOUNTS AND INVESTMENTS COMMITTEE

- 1. Sen. Wamatangi Kimani
- 2. Sen. Stephen Ole Ntutu
- 3. Sen. (Eng.) Karue Muriuki
- 4. Sen. (Prof.) John Lonyangapuo
- 5. Sen. Wangari Martha
- 6. Sen. (Dr.) Khalwale Boni
- 7. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 8. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 9. Sen. Nyong'o Anyang'
- 10. Sen. Mong'are Okong'o Kennedy
- 11. Sen. George Khaniri

B. COMMITTEE ON DEVOLVED GOVERNMENT

- 1. Sen. Murkomen Kipchumba
- 2. Sen. Lesuuda Naisula
- 3. Sen. Kerrow Billow
- 4. Sen. Beatrice Elachi
- 5. Sen. (Prof.) Wilfred Lesan
- 6. Sen. Sitswila Wako Amos
- 7. Sen. Janet Ong'era
- 8. Sen. Omar Hassan
- 9. Sen. Tiole Ndiema Henry

...../Appendix

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2016

(No.002)

C. COMMITTEE ON IMPLEMENTATION

- 1. Sen. Haji Mohammed Yusuf
- 2. Sen. Bule A. Ali
- 3. Sen. Chelule Liza
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Gertrude
- 5. Sen. (Dr.)Kariuki Godfrey Gitahi
- 6. Sen. Ali Hassan Abdirahman
- 7. Sen. James Orengo
- 8. Sen. Muthama Johnson
- 9. Sen. Nyongesa Kanainza Daisy

D. COMMITTEE ON DELEGATED LEGISLATION

- 1. Sen. Sang Stephen
- 2. Sen. Gwendo Joy
- 3. Sen. Onchwang'i Hosea
- 4. Sen. Mbura Emma Gertrude
- 5. Sen. Karaba Daniel
- 6. Sen. Madzayo Stewart
- 7. Sen. Sijeny Judith
- 8. Sen. Musila David
- 9. Sen. Omondi Godliver Nanjira
