News and Events

MPs, Staff Conferred National Awards by the House Speakers

The Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Justin Muturi and his Senate Counterpart, Sen. Ekwee Ethuro, have this morning presided over a ceremony for the conferment of Presidential National Honours to Members and staff of Parliament.

This follows their successful consideration and subsequent conferment by H.E. the President Uhuru Kenyatta who on December 12, 2016, in exercise of the powers vested in him under Article 132(4)(c) of the Constitution, conferred upon them various National Honours.
The two speakers who are co-chairpersons of the Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee presented insignia to 13 successful nominees.
Both Speakers stated that when making recommendation and consideration for members to be awarded honours, the committee is guided by their ubiquitous work track record, responsibilities held and longevity of their service to the nation.

They added that they do not consider members political affiliations when nominating them for the conferment of the awards by the President.
The Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee was established to assist the Presidency in selecting nominees within the legislature for conferment of National Honours.

The successful nominees from both the National Assembly and Senate and who were awarded Chief of the Burning Spear (C.B.S), are: Hon Moses Cheboi, Hon John Mbadi, Hon Pkosing David, Hon Benjamin Washiali, Hon Thomas Mwadeghu, Hon Abdirahman Ali Hassan, Hon Isaac Mwaura, Sen Daniel Karaba, Sen Bonny Khalwale and Sen Janet Ongera.
Others include staff of Parliament and Independent Commissions and Offices, Hon Dr. Abdullahi Ibrahim Ali (PSC), Mrs. Agnes Odhiambo (Controller of Budget) were also feted with Chief of Burning Spear and Mrs. Phyllis Makau (Director, Parliament Budget Office) who was awarded with the Order of Grand Warrior of Kenya (OGW).

Contact Us

The Clerk 
Tel: 254 2 2221291 or 2848000
Fax: 254 2 2243694

The Clerk
Kenya National Assembly
Tel: 254 2 2221291 or 2848000
Fax: 254 2 2243694

Parliament of Kenya. All rights reserved.