

## THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY THIRTEENTH PARLIAMENT - FOURTH SESSION (2025)

IN THE MATTER OF ARTICLES 118(1)(b) AND 250(2) OF THE CONSTITUTION AND

IN THE MATTER OF SECTIONS 5(4) AND 7A OF THE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION ACT (CAP. 7C)

AND

IN THE MATTER OF THE PUBLIC APPOINTMENTS (PARLIAMENTARY APPROVAL) ACT (CAP. 7F)

AND

IN THE MATTER OF APPROVAL BY THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF PERSONS NOMINATED FOR APPOINTMENT AS CHAIRPESRON AND MEMBERS OF THE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION

## NOTIFICATION OF APPROVAL HEARINGS AND INVITATION TO SUBMIT MEMORANDA

**WHEREAS**, in accordance with provisions of Article 250(2) of the Constitution and the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act (Cap. 7C), His Excellency the President is empowered to nominate and with the approval of the National Assembly, appoint the Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission. In exercise of the said powers, His Excellency the President nominated the following persons for appointment as Chairperson and Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission—

No.	NOMINEE	POSITION	
1.	Mr. Erastus Edung Ethekon	Chairperson	
2.	Ms. Ann Njeri Nderitu	Member Member Member Member Member Member	
3.	Mr. Moses Alutalala Mukhwana		
4.	Ms. Mary Karen Sorobit		
5.	Mr. Hassan Noor Hassan		
6.	Mr. Francis Odhiambo Aduol		
7.	Ms. Fahima Araphat Abdalla	Member	

**AND WHEREAS**, following receipt of the nominations from His Excellency the President, the Rt. Hon. Speaker of the National Assembly vide a Notification made on **Friday 9th May 2025** conveyed the Message to the Members of the National Assembly and referred the names and *curricula vitae* of the nominees to the **Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs** for consideration and reporting to the House;

IT IS NOTIFIED to the general public that pursuant to Article 118(1)(b) of the Constitution and section 6(4) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act (Cap. 7F), the Departmental Committee on Justice and Constitutional Affairs shall conduct Approval Hearings (Vetting) of the nominees on Monday 26<sup>th</sup> May 2025 in the Mini Chamber, First Floor, County Hall, Parliament Buildings at 9:30am as per the schedule below-

No.	NOMINEE	POSITION	TIME
1.	Mr. Erastus Edung Ethekon	Chairperson	9.30 am
2.	Ms. Ann Njeri Nderitu	Member	10.30 am
3.	Mr. Moses Alutalala Mukhwana	Member	11.30 am
4.	Ms. Mary Karen Sorobit	Member	12.30 pm
5.	Mr. Hassan Noor Hassan	Member	2.30 pm
6.	Mr. Francis Odhiambo Aduol	Member	3.30 pm
7.	Ms. Fahima Araphat Abdalla	Member	4.30 pm

**AND WHEREAS,** section 6(9) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act (Cap. 7F) provides that "any person may prior to the approval hearing and by written statement on oath, provide the Clerk with evidence contesting the suitability of a candidate to hold the office to which the candidate has been nominated".

**IN COMPLIANCE** with Article 118(1)(b) of the Constitution and section 6(9) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act (Cap. 7F), the Clerk of the National Assembly hereby invites members of the public to submit any representations they may have, by way of **written statements on oath (affidavits) with supporting evidence contesting the suitability of the candidates** for appointment to the offices they have been nominated to.

The memoranda may be forwarded to the Clerk of the National Assembly, P.O. Box 41842-00100, Nairobi; hand-delivered to the Office of the Clerk, Main Parliament Buildings, Nairobi; or emailed to <a href="mailto:cna@parliament.go.ke">cna@parliament.go.ke</a> to be received on or before Wednesday 21st May 2025 by 5.00 p.m.

## IT IS FURTHER NOTIFIED THAT the nominees are required to-

- (1) Appear for the approval hearings with their original identity cards, academic and professional certificates and other relevant testimonials; and
- (2) Obtain letters/certificates of compliance from the following institutions-
  - (a) The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission;
  - (b) The Kenya Revenue Authority;
  - (c) The Higher Education Loans Board;
  - (d) The Directorate of Criminal Investigations;
  - (e) The Office of the Registrar of Political Parties; and
  - (f) A Credit Reference Bureau.

## S. NJOROGE, CBS CLERK OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Monday, 12th May 2025