Thirteenth Parliament (No.07) First Session (066)



**REPUBLIC OF KENYA** 

## THIRTEENTH PARLIAMENT – FIRST SESSION

## THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

## **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

## WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2022

- **1.** The House assembled at thirty minutes past Nine O'clock
- **2.** The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- **3. Presiding –** the Deputy Speaker

#### 4. PROCEDURAL MOTION- LIMITATION OF DEBATE ON MOTIONS

Motion made and Question proposed:-

**THAT**, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 97(1), this House **orders** that each speech in a debate on any **Motion**, **including a Special Motion** be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Departmental Committee, in that order.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

No debate arising;

Question put and <u>Agreed to.</u>

#### 5. <u>MOTION</u> - <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS</u>

Motion made and Question proposed:-

**THAT**, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 204, this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the Committee in addition to those specified under paragraph (1): -

- (i) The Hon. Nelson Koech, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Rahab Wachira Mukami, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Dido Ali Raso, M.P.

- (iv) The Hon. George Gitonga Murugara, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. David Gikaria, M.P.
- (vi) The Hon. Ferdinand Wanyonyi, M.P.
- (vii) The Hon. Mary Emaase, M.P.
- (viii) The Hon. Abdul Rahim Dawood, M.P.
- (ix) The Hon. Junet Mohamed, CBS, M.P.
- (x) The Hon. Caleb Amisi, M.P.
- (xi) The Hon. Stephen Mule, M.P.
- (xii) The Hon. Abdi Shurie, M.P.
- (xiii) The Hon. Naisula Lesuuda, M.P.
- (xiv) The Hon. David Pkosing, CBS, M.P.
- (xv) The Hon. Mishi Mboko, CBS, M.P.

#### (The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Rising in his place pursuant to Standing Order 95, the Member for Emuhaya Constituency (Hon. Omboko Milemba, MP) claimed to move that the Mover be called upon to reply;

Question that the Mover be called upon to reply put and agreed to.

Mover replied;

Question put and <u>Agreed to.</u>

## 6. MOTION - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE ON SELECTION

Motion made and Question proposed:-

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 172, this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the Committee on Selection in addition to those specified under paragraphs (a) and (b): -

- (i) The Hon. Eric Karemba Muchangi Njiru, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. John Kiarie Waweru, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Beatrice Kahai Adagala, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Japhet Miriti Kareke Mbiuki, CBS, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. Julius Kipbiwot Melly, M.P.
- (vi) The Hon. Silvanus Osoro, M.P.
- (vii) The Hon. Martha Wangari Wanjira, M.P.
- (viii) The Hon. (Dr.) Robert Pukose, M.P.
- (ix) The Hon. Leah Sopiato Sankaire, M.P.
- (x) The Hon. Anne Muratha Wanjiku Mugo, M.P.
- (xi) The Hon. Caroline Jeptoo Ng'elechei, M.P.
- (xii) The Hon. Joseph Majimbo Kalasinga, M.P.
- (xiii) The Hon. Junet Mohamed, CBS, M.P.
- (xiv) The Hon. Joshua Kimilu, M.P.
- (xv) The Hon. Jessica Mbalu, M.P.
- (xvi) The Hon. Julius Sunkuli, EGH, M.P.
- (xvii) The Hon. Samuel Arama, M.P.
- (xviii) The Hon. Ken Chonga, M.P.
- (xix) The Hon. Nabii Nabwera, M.P.
- (xx) The Hon. Umulkheir Harun, M.P.

(xxi) The Hon. Ali Wario Guyo, M.P.

-

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Rising in his place pursuant to Standing Order 95, the Member for Funyula Constituency (Hon. (Dr.) Wilberforce Oundo, MP) claimed to move that the Mover be called upon to reply;

Question that the Mover be called upon to reply put and agreed to.

Mover replied;

Question deferred.

And the time being two minutes to One O'clock, the Deputy Speaker interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House <u>without</u> Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

## 7. HOUSE ROSE

at two minutes to One O'clock

# <u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

The Speaker will take the Chair on Wednesday, October 12, 2022 at 2.30 p.m.

----X----