

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

THIRTEENTH PARLIAMENT - FIRST SESSION

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 08, 2022

- 1. The House assembled at thirty minutes past Two O'clock
- **2.** The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- **3. Presiding –** the Honourable Speaker
- 4. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

The Speaker issued the following Communications -

(i) <u>Further postponement of election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the</u> Select Committee on National Cohesion and Equal Opportunity

"Honourable Members, as you will recall, following a request from the Leader of the Majority Party, the Hon. Kimani Ichung'wah, CBS, MP, the election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Select Committee on National Cohesion and Equal Opportunity were deferred from Friday, 4th November, 2022 to today, Tuesday, 8th November, 2022.

Honourable Members, I wish to inform the House that I am in receipt of another letter from the Leader of the of the Majority Party seeking **further deferment** of the said election, which was to take place today Tuesday, 8th November, 2022.

The request for deferment arose from a consultative meeting between the Selection Committee and the Leadership of the House on the need to allow for further consultations. To this end, the Leader of the Majority now seeks deferment of the election to **Thursday**, **10**th **November**, **2022**.

Honourable Members, having acceded to the request, I order that the election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Select Committee on National Cohesion and Equal Opportunity stands deferred to Thursday, 10th November, 2022. The Clerk is hereby directed to designate and notify Members of the place and time for the said election.

The House is accordingly guided.

I thank you!"

(ii) Invitation to the 2022 Lamu Cultural Festival

"Honourable Members, I wish to inform the House that am in receipt of a letter from the Member for Lamu East, the Hon. Capt. Ruweida Mohamed Obo, M.P. regarding the upcoming Lamu Cultural Festival.

Honourable Members, in her letter, the Member for Lamu East, on behalf of the residents of Lamu East Constituency cordially invites all Members of Parliament to this year's Lamu Cultural Festival scheduled to be held in *Amu Island* on Thursday, 24th and Friday, 25th November, 2022.

Honourable Members, the purpose of the said Cultural Festival is to showcase the Island's cultural heritage and to promote tourism by marketing the various historical sites located in Lamu County among them, *Siyu*, *Patte*, *Shella and Lamu* Port.

The House is accordingly informed.

I thank you!"

5. PAPERS LAID

The following Papers were laid on the Table -

- (i) Proposed National Government Constituencies Development Fund Budget Ceiling for each Constituency for the Financial Year 2022/2023; and
- (ii) First and Second Batches of Nominees to one hundred and twenty-four (124) National Government Constituencies Development Fund Committees from the National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board for the following Constituencies-

1.	Bahati;	19. Ganze;	41. Kipkelion
2.	Baringo	20. Gatanga;	East;
	South;	21. Gilgil;	42. Kipkelion
3.	Belgut;	22. Githunguri;	West;
4.	Bondo;	23. Igembe North;	43. Kipipiri;
5.	Budalangi;	24. Igembe	44. Kirinyaga
6.	Bumula;	Central;	Central;
7.	Bura;	25. Isiolo North;	45. Kisauni;
8.	Butula;	26. Jomvu;	46. Kisumu
9.	Changamwe;	27. Kajiado East;	Central;
10.	Cherangany;	28. Kajiado North;	47. Kisumu West;
11.	Chuka/Igamb	29. Kajiado West;	
	aNgombe;	30. Kaloleni;	
12.	Dadaab;	31. Kangema;	48. Kitui Central:
13.	Dagoretti	32. Kapenguria;	49. Kitui East;
	South;	33. Kapseret;	50. Kitui Rural;
14.	Eldama	34. Kasipul;	51. Kitui South;
	Ravine;	35. Kathaini;	52. Kuresoi
15.	Eldas;	36. Khwisero;	North;
16.	Embakasi	37. Kibra;	53. Lagdera;
	North;	38. Kilgoris;	54. Laikipia East;
17.	Embakasi	39. Kilifi South;	55. Laikipia
	West;	40. Kinangop;	North;
18.	Endebess;	5 •	56. Laikipia West;
			57. Lamu West;

58. Likuyani;	77. Nakuru Town	101. Teso South;
59. Limuru;	West;	102. Tharaka;
60. Maara;	78. Nandi Hills;	103. Tongaren;
61. Magarini;	79. Narok North;	104. Ugunja;
62. Malava;	80. Narok South;	105. Wajir West;
63. Mandera	81. Ndaragwa;	106. Wajir South;
East;	82. Njoro;	107. Webuye East;
64. Mandera	83. North Horr;	108. Webuye West;
South;	84. North Imenti;	109. West
65. Manyatta;	85. Nyakach;	Mugirango;
66. Maragua;	86. Nyatike;	110. Wundayi;
67. Mathioya;	87. Ol Joro Orok;	111. Yatta;
68. Mbeere South;	88. Othaya;	112. Baringo
69. Molo;	89. Pokoť South;	Central;
•	90. Rabai;	113. Kacheliba;
	91. Rarieda;	114. Kaiti;
	92. Rongai;	115. Kieni;
	93. Rongo;	116. Langata;
	94. Roysambu;	117. Makueni;
70. Moyale;	95. Ruiru;	118. Marakwet
71. Msambweni;	96. South Imenti;	East;
72. Muhoroni;	,	119. Marakwet
73. Mumias East;		West;
,		120. Mvita;
74. Mwea;	97. Soy;	121. Mosop;
75. Mwingi West;	98. Subukia;	122. Nyeri Town;
76. Naivasha;	99. Suna East;	123. Saboti; and
·	100. Tarbaj;	124. Tiaty.
		-

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

6. NOTICE OF MOTION

The following Notice of Motion was given-

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Article 127(2) of the Constitution, the House **approves** the appointment of the following Members of the National Assembly and Senators to the Parliamentary Service Commission-

- (a) under sub-section (c)(i) -
 - (i) The Hon. Faith Wairimu Gitau, M.P.
 - (ii) The Hon. Mohamed Ali, M.P.
 - (iii) The Hon. Sen. Nderitu Kinyua, M.P.
 - (iv) The Hon. Sen. Joyce Korir, M.P.
- (b) under sub-section (c)(ii) –
- (i) The Hon. Mishi Juma Khamisi Mboko, M.P. The Hon. King'ola Patrick Makau, M.P.

(No.18) TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 08, 2022 (145)

(ii)

(iii) The Hon. Sen. Fatuma Adan Dullow, CBS, M.P.

7. <u>MOTION - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SERVICE</u> COMMISSION

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Article 127(2) of the Constitution, the House **approves** the appointment of the following Members of the National Assembly and Senators to the Parliamentary Service Commission-

- (a) under sub-section (c)(i) -
 - (i) The Hon. Faith Wairimu Gitau, M.P.
 - (ii) The Hon. Mohamed Ali, M.P.
 - (iii) The Hon. Sen. Nderitu Kinyua, M.P.
 - (iv) The Hon. Sen. Joyce Korir, M.P.
- (b) under sub-section (c)(ii) -
 - (i) The Hon. Mishi Juma Khamisi Mboko, M.P.
 - (ii) The Hon. King'ola Patrick Makau, M.P.
 - (iii) The Hon. Sen. Fatuma Adan Dullow, CBS, M.P.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

There being no debate arising;

Question put and agreed to.

8. STATEMENTS ON THE LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL TO AMEND THE CONSTITUTION UNDER STANDING ORDER 114 (7A)

PURSUANT to the provisions of Standing Order 114(7A), it is notified that, on Wednesday, 2nd November, 2022, the Speaker accorded an opportunity to the Member for Gichugu (The Hon. Gichimu Githinji) and the Member for Matungulu (The Hon. Stephen Mule) to make statements on the *Legislative Proposal* to amend the Constitution to entrench the National Government Constituencies Development Fund, the National Government Affirmative Action Fund, the Senate Oversight Fund, and the Economic Stimulus and Empowerment Fund in the Constitution;

THEREAFTER, the Speaker allowed Members to make general comments on the Legislative Proposal.

(The Hon. Gichimu Githinji, M.P. and the Hon. Stephen Mule, M.P. – 02.11.2022) (Co-Sponsors)

Debate interrupted on Thursday, November 03, 2022 resumed;

(No.18) TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 08, 2022 (146)

And the time being Nine O'clock, the Second Chairperson interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House without Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

9. HOUSE ROSE - at Nine O'clock

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Wednesday, November 09, 2022 at 9.30 a.m.

---X---