(No. 087)

(1086)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

TWELFTH PARLIAMENT - (FIFTH SESSION)

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

ORDERS OF THE DAY

SPECIAL SITTING

(Convened vide Gazette Notice No. 9078 of 30th August 2021)

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2021 AT 2.30 P.M. ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- **6.** Notices of Motion
- 7. Questions and Statements

8*. SPECIAL MOTION -

CONSIDERATION OF NOMINEES FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE TEACHERS SERVICE COMMISSION

(The Chairperson, Departmental Committee on Education and Research)

THAT, taking into consideration the findings of the Departmental Committee on Education and Research in its Report on the Vetting of Nominees for appointment to the Teachers Service Commission, *laid on the Table of the House on Wednesday, September 1, 2021*, and pursuant to the provisions of Article 250(2)(b) of the Constitution, section 8(8) of the Teachers Service Commission Act, 2012 and sections 3 and 8 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, this House <u>approves</u> the appointment of the following persons as Members of the **Teachers Service Commission**: -

- (i) Dr. Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang
- (ii) Ms. Christine K. Kahindi
- (iii) Ms. Sharon Jelagat Kisire
- (iv) Ms. Annceta G. Wafukho
- (v) Mr. Salesa Adano Abudo

- Member;
- Member;
- Member;
- Member; and
- Member.

9*. SPECIAL MOTION -

CONSIDERATION OF NOMINEES FOR
APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE
INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND
BOUNDARIES COMMISSION

(The Chairperson, Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs)

THAT, taking into consideration the findings of the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs in its Report on the Approval Hearing for Appointment of Ms. Juliana Whonge Cherera, Mr. Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Ms. Irene Cherop Masit and Mr. Justus Abonyo Nyang'aya as Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, laid on the Table of the House on Wednesday, September 1, 2021, and pursuant to the provisions of Article 250(2)(b) of the Constitution, section 7A of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011 and section 8 (1) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval Act, 2011, this House **approves** the appointment of the following persons as Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission: -

- (i) Ms. Juliana Whonge Cherera Member;
 (ii) Mr. Francis Mathenge Wanderi Member;
 (iii) Ms. Irene Cherop Masit Member; and
- (iv) Mr. Justus Abonyo Nyang'aya Member.

* Denotes Orders of the Day

...../Notices*

NOTICES

LIMITATION OF DEBATE

The House resolved on Wednesday, February 10, 2021 as follows-

<u>Limitation of Debate on Motions</u>

THAT, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion shall be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and THAT ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and THAT priority in speaking shall be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Departmental Committee, in THAT order.