

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

TWELFTH PARLIAMENT - (FIFTH SESSION)

THE SENATE

SUPPLEMENTARY ORDER PAPER SPECIAL SITTING

THURSDAY, MAY 06, 2021 AT 2:30 PM

PRAYER

- 1. Communication from the Chair.
- 2. Notices of Motion (as listed in the Appendix)
- 3. MOTION APPOINTMENT OF SENATORS TO SERVE IN THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE TO INVESTIGATE THE PROPOSED REMOVAL FROM OFFICE, BY IMPEACHMENT, OF HONOURABLE MOHAMMED ABDI MOHAMUD, THE GOVERNOR OF WAJIR COUNTY

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 181 of the Constitution and Section 33 of the County Governments Act, 2012, on Tuesday, 27th April, 2021, the Wajir County Assembly approved a Motion for the removal from office by impeachment, of the Honourable Mohamed Abdi Mohamud, Governor of Wajir County;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, 2012 and Standing Order 75(1)(b) of the Senate, the Senate by resolution, may appoint a special committee comprising eleven of its Members to investigate the matter;

FURTHER whereas, by a Resolution made on Thursday, 6th May, 2021 (Afternoon Sitting), the Senate resolved to proceed on this matter by way of a special committee, pursuant to Section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, 2012 and Standing Order 75(1)(b)(i),

																						,	/M	o	tı	ic)	n	L
•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	٠,	,		_	_				_

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to Standing Order 189, the Senate resolves to appoint a special committee comprising the following Senators -

- 1. Sen. Sakaja Johnson, CBS,MP;
- 2. Sen. Mwangi Githiomi, MP;
- 3. Sen. Christine Zawadi Gona, MP;
- 4. Sen. Susan Kihika, MP;
- 5. Sen. Mithika Linturi, MP;
- 6. Sen. (Eng.) Hargura Godana, MP;
- 7. Sen. Okong'o Mogeni, SC,MP;
- 8. Sen. Fredrick Outa, MP;
- 9. Sen. Agnes Muthama, MP,
- 10. Sen. Petronilla Were, MP; and
- 11. Sen. Issa Juma Boy, MP;

to investigate the proposed removal from office by impeachment of the Governor of Wajir County and to report to the Senate within ten (10) days of its appointment, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), on whether it finds the particulars of the allegations to have been substantiated.

4. THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2020

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(Second Reading)

(Resumption of debate interrupted on Thursday, 6th May, 2021 – Morning Sitting)

5. **COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE**

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2020

(The Senate Majority Leader)

6. THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2020

(The Senate Majority Leader)

(Third Reading)

--XXX--

NOTICE

NOTICE is given that, pursuant to Standing Order 251A and 251B, the sitting will be a hybrid sitting consisting of Senators who are physically present in the Senate Chamber and Senators participating virtually from a remote location through **Zoom** online meeting platform, as per guidelines issued by the Speaker pursuant to Standing Order 251A(4).

--XXX---

KEY

**** Denotes a Majority / Minority Party Bill

*** Denotes a National Assembly Bill

**_ Denotes a Committee Bill

*- Denotes any other Bill

APPENDIX

NOTICE OF MOTION - APPOINTMENT OF SENATORS TO SERVE IN THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE TO INVESTIGATE THE PROPOSED REMOVAL FROM OFFICE, BY IMPEACHMENT, OF HONOURABLE MOHAMMED ABDI MOHAMUD, THE GOVERNOR OF WAJIR COUNTY

(The Senate Majority Leader)

THAT, WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 181 of the Constitution and Section 33 of the County Governments Act, 2012, on Tuesday, 27th April, 2021, the Wajir County Assembly approved a Motion for the removal from office by impeachment, of the Honourable Mohamed Abdi Mohamud, Governor of Wajir County;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, 2012 and Standing Order 75(1)(b) of the Senate, the Senate by resolution, may appoint a special committee comprising eleven of its Members to investigate the matter;

FURTHER whereas, by a Resolution made on Thursday, 6th May, 2021 (Afternoon Sitting), the Senate resolved to proceed on this matter by way of a special committee, pursuant to Section 33(3)(b) of the County Governments Act, 2012 and Standing Order 75(1)(b)(i),

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to Standing Order 189, the Senate resolves to appoint a special committee comprising the following Senators -

- 1. Sen. Sakaja Johnson, CBS,MP;
- 2. Sen. Mwangi Githiomi, MP;
- 3. Sen. Christine Zawadi Gona, MP;
- 4. Sen. Susan Kihika, MP;
- 5. Sen. Mithika Linturi, MP;
- 6. Sen. (Eng.) Hargura Godana, MP;
- 7. Sen. Okong'o Mogeni, SC,MP;
- 8. Sen. Fredrick Outa, MP;
- 9. Sen. Agnes Muthama, MP,
- 10. Sen. Petronilla Were, MP; and
- 11. Sen. Issa Juma Boy, MP;

to investigate the proposed removal from office by impeachment of the Governor of Wajir County and to report to the Senate within ten (10) days of its appointment, pursuant to Standing Order 75(2), on whether it finds the particulars of the allegations to have been substantiated.
