

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

TWELFTH PARLIAMENT - FIRST SESSION

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 05, 2017

- 1. The House assembled at thirty minutes past Two O'clock
- 2. The Proceedings were opened with Prayer
- 3. **Presiding -** the Honourable Speaker

4. **PAPERS LAID**

The following Papers were laid on the Table of the House-

- (i) Lists of Nominees to four (4) National Government Constituencies Development Fund Committees from the National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board:
- (ii) Annual Report of the Kenya Law Reform Commission from 1st July, 2016 to 30th June, 2017;
- (iii) A Preliminary Report on a human rights account of the 2017 General Elections by the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR).
- (iv) The Reports of the Auditor-General on the Financial Statements in respect of the following Constituencies for the year ended 30th June, 2016 and the certificates therein:
 - a) Tigania East Constituency;
 - b) Central Imenti Constituency;
 - c) Kaiti Constituency;
 - d) Mwingi West Constituency;
 - e) Mwingi Central Constituency;
 - f) Maara Constituency;
 - g) Igembe South Constituency;
 - h) Kajiado East Constituency; and
 - i) Eldas Constituency.

- (v) The Reports of the Auditor-General on the Financial Statements in respect of the following institutions for the year ended 30th June, 2016 and the certificates therein
 - a) Kenya Forest Service;
 - b) State Department for Interior;
 - c) The Presidency;
 - d) Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital; and
 - e) Kenya Seed Company Limited and its Subsidiaries.
- (vi) The Reports of the Auditor-General on the Financial Statements in respect of the following Institutions for the year ended 30th June, 2017 and the certificates therein:
 - a) Kenya Electricity Generating Company Limited; and
 - b) Kenya Power and Lighting Company.

5. **NOTICE OF MOTION** – (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Section 43(4) and Regulation 5(10) of the National Government Constituency Development Fund, 2015, this House approves the list of nominees for appointment to the following four (4) Constituency Committees of the National Government Constituency Development Fund, laid on the Table of the House on Tuesday, December 5, 2017.

- (i) Narok East Constituency;
- (ii) Gatanga Constituency;
- (iii) Mvita Constituency; and,
- (iv) Nyando Constituency;

6. **NOTICE OF MOTION** – (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 28(4) and notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 27(1), this House resolves to alter its Calendar for the First Session of the Assembly (2017) as adopted on September 27, 2017 by extending its regular sittings to Thursday, December 14, 2017.

7. MOTION – APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE ON SELECTION

Motion made and Question proposed-

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 172, this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the Committee on Selection, in addition to those specified under paragraph (1) (a) & (b):-

- (i) The Hon. Jimmy Angwenyi, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Benjamin Washiali, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Jude Njomo, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Beatrice Nkatha Nyaga, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. Khatib Mwashetani, M.P.
- (vi) The Hon Faith Wairimu Gitau, M.P.
- (vii) The Hon. David Pkosing, M.P.
- (viii) The Hon. David Ole Sankok, M.P.
- (ix) The Hon. William Chepkut, M.P.

- (x) The Hon. Gladwell Jesire Cheruiyot, M.P.
- (xi) The Hon. John Kiarie, M.P.
- (xii) The Hon. William Kipkemoi Kisang, M.P.
- (xiii) The Hon. Junet Sheikh Nuh Mohammed, M.P.
- (xiv) The Hon. Florence Mwikali Mutua, M.P.
- (xv) The Hon. Nicholas Tindi Mwale, M.P.
- (xvi) The Hon. (Dr.) Benson Makali Mulu, M.P.
- (xvii) The Hon. Owen Baya, M.P.
- (xviii) The Hon. Ahmed Abdisalan Ibrahim, M.P.
- (xix) The Hon. Catherine Wambilianga, M.P.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Mover replied;

Question put and agreed to.

8. <u>MOTION</u> – <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE PROCEDURE AND HOUSE RULES</u> COMMITTEE

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 208 and notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 172(2), this House approves the appointment of the following Members to the Procedure and House Rules Committee, in addition to those specified under paragraph (2) of Standing Order 208 -

- (i) The Hon. David Kiaraho, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Abdul Rahim Dawood, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. David Gikaria, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Ruweida Mohamed Obo, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. David Kangogo Bowen, M.P.
- (vi) The Hon. Cecily Mbarire, M.P.
- (vii) The Hon. Gathoni Wamuchomba, M.P.
- (viii) The Hon. Capt. (Rtd.) Didmus Wekesa Barasa, M.P.
- (ix) The Hon. Janet Jepkemboi Sitienei, M.P.
- (x) The Hon. Ben Momanyi, M.P.
- (xi) The Hon. T. J. Kajwang, M.P.
- (xii) The Hon. Beatrice Adagala, M.P.
- (xiii) The Hon. Olago Aluoch, M.P.
- (xiv) The Hon. Zuleikha Hassan, M.P.
- (xv) The Hon. Pamela Odhiambo, M.P.

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

Mover replied;

Question put and agreed to.

9. THE PUBLIC TRUSTEE (AMENDMENT) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO.32 OF 2017)

Motion having been made and Question having been proposed -

THAT, the Public Trustee (Amendment) Bill (National Assembly Bill No.32 of 2017) be now read a Second Time

(The Leader of the Majority Party -30.11.2017)

And debate on the Second Reading having been concluded on Thursday, November 30, 2017;

Question put and agreed to;

Bill read a Second Time and committed to the Committee of the Whole House.

10. THE COPYRIGHT (AMENDMENT) BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 33 OF 2017)

Motion having been made and Question having been proposed -

THAT, the Public Trustee (Amendment) Bill (National Assembly Bill No.32 of 2017) be now read a Second Time.

(The Leader of the Majority Party – 30.11.2017)

Debate interrupted on Thursday, November 30, 2017 resumed;

(Change of Speaker from the Honourable Speaker to the First Chairperson);

Mover replied;

Question deferred.

11. THE BUILDING SURVEYORS BILL (NATIONAL ASSEMBLY BILL NO.35 OF 2017)

Order for Second Reading read;

Motion made and Question proposed -

THAT, the Building Surveyors Bill (National Assembly Bill No.35 of 2017) be now read a Second Time

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

Debate arising;

And the time being twenty four minutes to Six O'clock, the Chairperson interrupted the proceedings and adjourned the House <u>without</u> Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

12. **HOUSE ROSE** - At twenty four minutes to Six O'clock

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Wednesday, December 06, 2017 at 9.30 a.m.

--X--