

(No. 10) (030)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

<u>TWELFTH PARLIAMENT - (FIRST SESSION)</u>

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

ORDERS OF THE DAY SUPPLEMENTARY

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2017 AT 2.30 P.M.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- **5.** Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- **7.** Statements

8*. MOTION – ESTABLISHMENT OF A SELECT COMMITTEE ON ELECTION-RELATED LAWS

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, aware that the country is still in an election cycle, arising out of the requirement for a fresh Presidential Election in October, 2017; further aware that there is need to legislate on and address certain legal lacunas and in compliance with judicial decisions asking Parliament to legislate on certain matters to ensure that the elections conform with the provisions of Article 81 of the Constitution on general principles for the electoral system; noting that such election-related matters would ordinarily require consideration by the relevant Committee of the House which is yet to be established; further noting the limited period of time before the date of the said fresh election; cognizant of the urgent need to consider and conclude with all matters relating to the elections to allow the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission ample time to implement any changes related to the review of the election-related laws; **NOW THEREFORE**, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 127(2), this House **resolves** –

- a) to establish a Select Committee to be known as the **Select Committee on the Election Laws, 2017** comprising of not more than fifteen Members, to examine and undertake public participation on the Election Laws (Amendment) Bill, (National Assembly Bill No.39 of 2017) and **any other** related Bills;
- b) that, the Committee comprise of the following Members-
 - (i) The Hon. William Kipkiror Cheptumo, MP- Chairperson
 - (ii) The Hon. Gladys Jepkosgei-Boss Shollei, MP
 - (iii) The Hon. Isaac Waihenya Ndirangu, MP
 - (iv) The Hon. Ali Wario, MP
 - (v) The Hon. Jennifer Shamalla, MP
 - (vi) The Hon. Adan Haji Yusuf, MP
 - (vii) The Hon. George Gitonga Murugara, MP
 - (viii) The Hon. Stanley Muthama, MP
 - (ix) The Hon. Alice Muthoni Wahome, MP
- c) that, the quorum of the Committee be the Chairperson and four other Members; and,
- d) that, the Committee considers the matters under its mandate and reports to the House on or before **Tuesday**, **October 10**, **2017**.

(The House is awaiting the appointment of six additional Members from the NASA Coalition)

9*. MOTION - APPROVAL OF RATIFICATION OF THE PROTOCOL TO OPERATIONALIZE THE EXTENDED JURISDICTION OF THE EAST AFRICAN COURT OF JUSTICE

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, cognizant of the Report of the Select Committee on Regional Integration of the 11th Parliament on the Ratification of the Protocol to operationalize the Extended Jurisdiction of the East African Court of Justice, and pursuant to Section 8 of the Treaty Making and Ratification Act, 2012, this House **approves** the Ratification of the Protocol to operationalize the Extended Jurisdiction of the East African Court of Justice.

10*. MOTION - APPROVAL OF RATIFICATION OF THE EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY PROTOCOL ON PRIVILEGES AND IMMUNITIES

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, cognizant of the Report of the Select Committee on Regional Integration of the 11th Parliament on the Ratification of the East African Community Protocol on Privileges and Immunities, and pursuant to Section 8 of the Treaty Making and Ratification Act, 2012, this House **approves** the Ratification of the Protocol to operationalize the East African Community Protocol on Privileges and Immunities.

* Denotes Orders of the Day

...../Notices

NOTICES

I. ADJOURNMENT OF THE HOUSE

The Speaker will today call upon the Leader of the Majority Party to move a Motion for Adjournment of the House until **Tuesday**, **October 10**, **2017**.

(Thereafter, the House to adjourn without question put)

MOTION - (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 28 on the Calendar of the Assembly (Regular Sessions), this House adjourns until Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 2.30 p.m.

The House resolved on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 as follows:-

- II. THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 97(4), this House orders that, the debate on any Motion for the Adjournment of the House to a day other than the next normal Sitting Day in accordance with the Calendar of the Assembly, be limited to a maximum of three (3) hours with not more than five (5) minutes for each Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of ten (10) minutes each; and that priority be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, in that order; provided that, when the period of Recess proposed by any such motion does not exceed ten (10) days, the debate shall be limited to a maximum of thirty minutes (30), and shall be strictly confined to the question of the adjournment.
- III. THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 97(4), this House orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Departmental Committee, in that Order.