# First Session Afternoon Sitting

(No. 28)

(219)

### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

### <u>TWELFTH PARLIAMENT – (FIRST SESSION)</u>

### **THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

**ORDERS OF THE DAY** 

## SUPPLEMENTARY

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2017 AT 2.30 P.M.

### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### **PRAYERS**

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

## 8\*. PROCEDURAL MOTION – EXTENSION OF SITTING TIME OF THE HOUSE

(Leader of the Majority Party)

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 30(3)(a), this House resolves to extend the sitting time of the House today until conclusion of the business appearing in the Order Paper.

# 9\*. MOTION – APPROVAL OF NOMINEES TO VARIOUS CONSTITUENCY COMMITTEES OF THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT CONSTITUENCY DEVELOPMENT FUND

(The Leader of the Majority Party)

**THAT**, pursuant to the provisions of Section 43(4) of the National Government Constituency Development Fund Act, 2015 and paragraph 5 (9 & 10) of the National Government Constituency Development Fund Regulations, 2016, this House approves the list of nominees for appointment to the following two (2) Constituency Committees of the National Government Constituency Development Fund, laid on the Table of the House on Thursday, December 14, 2017:-

### 1. DAADAB CONSTITUENCY

(i) (ii) (iii) (iv)	Ali Yussuf Rage Sahal Salah Ali Asha Yussuflsse Sophia Iman Gure	Male Youth Representative Male Adult Representative Female Youth Representative Female Adult representative
(v)	Abdi Abdullahi Khalif	Representative of Persons living with Disability
(vi)	Haron Mohamed Maalim	Nominee of the Constituency Office (Male)
(vii)	Halima Hussein Muhamed	Nominee of the Constituency Office (Female)

### 2. IJARA CONSTITUENCY

(i) (ii) (iii) (iv)	Hassan Daud Mohamed Shair Abdi Muhumed Dahabo Adan Kusow Salatho Mathobe Abdi	Male Youth Representative Male Adult Representative Female Youth Representative Female Adult representative
(v)	Nasri Bare Dabar	Representative of Persons living with Disability
(vi)	Abdi Ahmed Hassan	Nominee of the Constituency Office (Male)
(vii)	Halima Hussein Bulle	Nominee of the Constituency Office (Female)

# 10\*. ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

* Denotes Orders of the Day	

...../Notices

## NOTICES

The House resolved on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 as follows:-

### **I.** ADJOURNMENT OF THE HOUSE

The Speaker will today call upon the Leader of the Majority Party to move a Motion for Adjournment of the House until **Tuesday**, **February 13, 2018**.

(Thereafter, the House to adjourn without question put)

### **MOTION** – (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 28 on the Calendar of the Assembly (Regular Sessions), this House adjourns until Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 2.30 p.m.

- that, the debate on any Motion for the **Adjournment** of the House to a day other than the next normal Sitting Day in accordance with the Calendar of the Assembly, be limited to a maximum of three (3) hours with not more than five (5) minutes for each Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of ten (10) minutes each; and that priority be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, in that order; provided that, when the period of Recess proposed by any such motion does not exceed ten (10) days, the debate shall be limited to a maximum of thirty minutes (30), and shall be strictly confined to the question of the adjournment.
- THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 97(4), this House orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Departmental Committee, in that order.