

REPUBLIC OF KENYA ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT

(FIRST SESSION)

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MESSAGES

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

(No. 6 of 2013)

Hon. Members,

Standing Order 42(1) relating to **Messages from the President** provides that "*The Speaker shall read to the House any message from the President delivered to the Speaker for communication to the House*". In this regard Hon. Members, I wish to convey the following Message from H.E. the President.

The Message, whose subject is **NOMINEES FOR PRINCIPAL SECRETARY**, was submitted by way of a letter dated June 10, 2013 addressed to my office for submission to the House. The Messages reads as follows, (and I Quote-)

"IN EXCERISE of Powers vested in me by Article 155 of the Constitution of Kenya do hereby submit my nominees for the office of Principal Secretary in the respective State Departments for approval by the National Assembly. The nominees are;-

	Name	Ministry		
1.	Mariamu El Maawy	Lands		
2.	Dr.Wilson Songa	Industrialization &		
		Enterprise		
3.	Josephta Mukobe	Coordination		
4.	. Eng.Joseph K.Njoroge Energy and Pe			
5.	Prof.Colletta Akinyi Suda	Science and Technology		
6.	James Teko Lopoyetum	Water		
7.	Eng.John Kipngetich Mosonik	Infrastructure		
8.	Eng.Karanja kibicho	Foreign Affairs		
9.	Mr.John Konchella	Devolution		
10.	Mr.Ali Noor Ismail	Labour		
11.	Dr.Belio Kipsang	Education		
12.	Dr.Kamau Thugge	Treasury		
13.	Mr.Nduva Muli	Transport		
14.	Dr.Khadijah Kassachom	Livestock		
15.	Mr.Mutea Iringo Interior			
16.	. Sicily Kanini Kariuki Agriculture			
17.	Prof.Japheth Micheni Ntiba	Fisheries		

18.	Amb.Monica Kathina Juma	Defence			
19.	Dr.Ibrahim M.Mohamed	Commerce and Tourism			
20.	Prof.freed H.K.Segor	Health			
21.	Mr.Joseph Musuni Tiampaty	Information and			
		Communication			
22.	Amb.Richard Ekai Titus	Mining			
23.	Mr.Patrick Omutia	Sports,Culture & The Arts			
24.	Manamaka Amani Mabruki	East African Community			
25.	Eng.Peter Oganga Magiti	Planning			
26.	Mr.Richard Lesirian Lesiyampe	Environment & Natural			
		Resources			

Hon. Members,

Standing Order 45 requires that, upon receipt of notification of nomination for appointments such nomination shall stand committed to the relevant Departmental Committee of the House for consideration. Pursuant to the provisions of the said Standing Order therefore, and paragraph (3) of Standing Order 42 (*Messages from the President*), I hereby refer the Message from H.E. The President containing the names of the twenty six Nominees together with their curriculum vitae to the **following Departmental Committees** in accordance with their mandates, to undertake the necessary approval hearings.

	Committee	Nominees
1.	Departmental Committee on Lands	Mariamu El Maawy
2.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Dr. Wilson Songa
	Finance, Planning & Trade	(ii) Mr. John Konchella
		(iii) Dr. Kamau Thugge
		(iv) Dr. Ibrahim M.Mohamed
		(v) Eng. Peter Oganga Magiti
3.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Josephta Mukobe
	Administration & National Security	(ii) Mr. Mutea Iringo
4.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Eng. Joseph K. Njoroge
	Energy, Communication &	(ii) Mr. Joseph Musuni Tiampaty
	Information	
5.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Prof. Colletta Akinyi Suda
	Education, Research & Technology	(ii) Dr. Belio Kipsang
6.	Departmental Committee on Health	Prof. Fred H.K. Segor
7.	Departmental Committee on	(i) James Teko Lopoyetum
	Environment & Natural Resources	(ii) Mr. Richard Lesirian Lesiyampe
		(iii) Amb. Richard Ekai Titus
8.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Eng.John Kipngetich Mosonik
	Transport, Public Works & Housing	(ii) Mr.Nduva Muli
9.	Departmental Committee on	(i) Eng.Karanja Kibicho
	Defence & Foreign Relations	(ii) Amb.Monica Kathina Juma
		(iii) Manamaka Amani Mabruki

10.	Departmental Committee on Labour			(i)	Mr. Ali Noor Ismail
	& Social Welfare			(ii)	Mr. Patrick Omutia
11.	Departmental	Committee	on	(i)	Dr. Khadijah Kassachom
	Agriculture,	Livestock	&	(ii)	Prof. Japheth Micheni Ntiba
	Cooperatives			(iii)	Sicily Kanini Kariuki

Hon. Members,

Under the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act,(No.33 of 2011)and the Standing Orders of the Committee ,*The National Assembly shall, within fourteen days of the receipt of the nominees under subsection (7), consider all the nominations received and may approve or reject any nomination*" In this regard, Hon. Members, I wish to guide the Committees and the House as follows-

- (i) The Departmental Committees should notify the Nominees and the general public of the time and place for holding the approval hearings, in good time. In order to manage our time optimally, the notification should therefore be made tomorrow, Wednesday, June 12th, 2013; and,
- (ii) The Committee may therefore undertake the approval hearings between June 17th and 19th, 2013. Thereafter, the Committees should table their Reports before this House on or before June 20th, 2013.

Thank you!

THE HON. JUSTIN B.N. MUTURI, MP SPEAKER OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY June 11, 2013